Canva-Landing-Page-Earth-Day-top-banner

حل One Print, One Tree

اطبع ورقة لنزرع شجرة. لكل طلب طباعة تتلقاه Canva، نزرع شجرة – وبرغم بساطة هذه الفكرة، فإن تأثيرها كبير.

تأثيرنا حتى الآن

2.7 مليون
الأشجار المزروعة
5.7 مليون
الأشجار الملتزَم بزراعتها
3,846
الأشخاص المستفيدون
4,457
هكتارات من الأراضي قيد الترميم المخطط لها
Person planting tree sapling in soil

طريقة العمل

  1. شجرة مقابل كل طلب.في كل مرة تطبع ورقًا من خلال Canva، يكشف طلبك النقاب عن شجرة لزراعتها في واحد من 18 موقعًا عبر 11 بلدًا.
  2. شجرتك تعثر على موطنها. شركة Reduce. Reuse. Grow. (RRG)، هي مؤسسة معتمدة لإعادة زراعة الغابات، تبحث عن الموقع المثالي لزراعة شجرتك لخلق تنوع بيولوجي واستعادة الحياة البرية.
  3. زراعة شجرتك. تزرع مجتمعاتنا المحلية والمزارعون شجرتك، مما يعيد الحيوية إلى مناظرهم الطبيعية ليتمكنوا من الزراعة باستدامة أكبر.

لِم علينا زراعة الأشجار؟

تلتزم Canva بمهمة مداواة آلام الكوكب لتتمكن المجتمعات المحلية والمزارعين من الزراعة بصورة أكثر استدامة.

بزراعة الأشجار وحمايتها، نعمل على تحسين الاحتفاظ بالمياه والتنوع البيولوجي وحماية الموائل مع خلق فرص في الزراعة والحراجة الزراعية.

Man in blue t-shirt carrying young tree to plant
Man planting trees in Mt Sinaka

ماذا نزرع؟

نهتم بزراعة الأنواع المحلية لاستعادة الأنظمة البيئية الأساسية المعرضة للخطر.

ولتعزيز تنوع النباتات، زرعنا أكثر من 205 نوع مختلف من الأشجار الأصلية من أشجار اللبخ إلى الباليت وأفزيليا كوانزينسيس.

كيف نحافظ على الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض؟

يوفر حل One Print, One Tree plants الحماية أيضًا للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض وتحافظ على موائلها.

هذا هو بيت القصيد لموقع زراعة الأشجار في الفلبين الذي يدعم المجتمعات المحلية للعثور على موائل للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض كالنسر الفلبيني والتمساح الفلبيني.

Grassy hill in foreground with city behind
A photo of a Philippine Eagle soaring in the sky, wings stretched out

إنقاذ النسر الفلبيني

لقد عقدنا شراكة مع مؤسسة Philippine Eagle Foundation لحماية النسر الفلبيني المهدد بالانقراض. نحن ملتزمون بضمان بقائه والتنوع البيولوجي الذي يمثله والاستخدام المستدام لمواردنا الحرجية حتى تستمتع الأجيال القادمة بها.


يُعد النسر الفلبيني — الطائر الوطني للفلبين — أحد أندر فصائل النسور في العالم. وهو طائر جارح عملاق تم إدراجه ضمن قائمة الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة (IUCN) على أنه مهدد بالانقراض بشدة، مع بقاء عدد يقدر بما يقرب من 400 زوج فقط في البرية. تتعرض النسور للتهديد يوميًا بفعل الأنشطة البشرية — والغابة هي موطنها الوحيد.


لسوء الحظ، أدى قطع الأشجار غير القانوني والاستخدام غير المسؤول للموارد إلى اختفاء الموائل الحرجية، وقتل نسر فلبيني واحد على الأقل سنويًا. وبفقدان المزيد من الغابات، ينتقل النسر الفلبيني بعيدًا عن مناطق الصيد المعتادة بحثًا عن فريسة لصيدها. ولا يمكن العثور على هذه الأنواع النادرة والرائعة من الطيور في أي مكان آخر سوى الفلبين. ويعني فقدان الأنواع وانقراضها أيضًا فقدان العالم بأسره لتراث بيولوجي ثمين.

التقِ بالمجتمعات

موراهاريفو، مدغشقر

يركز شركاؤنا في مجال الزراعة في منطقة نهر بيتسيبوكا على إعادة زراعة غابات أشجار الأيكة الساحلية الثمينة. كانت مصبات نهر بيتسيبوكا فيما مضى محاطة بغابات أشجار الأيكة الساحلية التي كانت موطنًا لمجموعة متنوعة من النباتات وفصائل الحيوانات الفريدة من نوعها. وعلى مدى قرون عدة، اعتمد سكان مدغشقر المحليون على الأسماك والمحار الذي يعيش في تلك الأنظمة البيئية كمصادر غذائية مستدامة. وتمثل جذور أشجار الأيكة الساحلية العميقة أهمية كبرى أيضًا لتحقيق الاستقرار في الساحل والحد من خطر التعرية.

  • نوع إعادة زراعة الغابات – أشجار الأيكة الساحلية
  • مساحة الموقع – 872 هكتارًا
  • الأشجار لكل هكتار – 10,000
  • الهكتارات التي أُعيدت زراعتها في 2021– 20 هكتارًا
  • الكربون المحتبس لكل هكتار – 840 طنًا متريًا
  • الإجمالي التقديري للكربون المحتبس – 16,800 طن متري
OnePrintOneTree_Madagascar
OnePrintOneTree_Mozambique

ماهوبو، موزمبيق

تبلغ مساحة موقع ماهوبو، الواقع في مقاطعة بوان، 82 كيلو مترًا تقريبًا. ويعيش في القرية المحلية أكثر من 100 ألف شخص يعتمد معظمهم على الزراعة لكسب العيش. وشهدت المنطقة خسائر فادحة في غابات أشجار الأيكة الساحلية بسبب الإفراط في استغلال الفحم والأخشاب. وستعيد Canva إحياء منطقة تقدر مساحتها بما يقرب من 20 هكتارًا عن طريق زراعة أكثر من 200,000 شجرة من أشجار الأيكة الساحلية، وتحديدًا الأنواع المحلية من القندل والسيريوبس والبروغيرا.

  • نوع إعادة زراعة الغابات – أشجار الأيكة الساحلية
  • مساحة الموقع– 645 هكتارًا
  • الأشجار لكل هكتار – 10,000
  • الهكتارات التي أُعيدت زراعتها في 2021– 20 هكتارًا
  • الكربون المحتبس لكل هكتار – 840 طنًا متريًا
  • الإجمالي التقديري للكربون المحتبس – 16,800 طن متري

كيتيليجيني، كينيا

تقع قرية كيجابي في شمال العاصمة الكينية، نيروبي، على حافة الوادي المتصدع الكبير. وتُعرف هذه القرية بتضاريسها الجافة شديدة الانحدار وغابات إفريقيا الجبلية. وتمثل هذه الغابة الفريدة التي تقع في كينيا موطنًا لكثير من المجتمعات الرعوية التي تعتمد على النظام البيئي المحلي بهدف الحفاظ على أنفسهم والاقتصاد. عانت الأراضي تدهورًا شديدًا بسبب عمليات إزالة الغابات المتعلقة في الأساس بالحصاد لإنتاج الفحم. لذلك، سيستعين شركاؤنا في عملية إعادة إحياء الغابات بالعديد من وسائل إعادة زراعة الغابات، ومنها إعادة التجديد الطبيعي الذي يديره المزارعون (FMNR) للمساعدة في استعادة المنطقة.

  • نوع إعادة زراعة الغابات – جبال إفريقيا
  • مساحة الموقع – 1493 هكتارًا
  • الأشجار لكل هكتار – 2,500
  • الهكتارات التي أُعيدت زراعتها في 2021– 20 هكتارًا
OnePrintOneTree_Kenya
OnePrintOneTree_AquinBay

خليج أكوين الغربي، هايتي

قد أدت أنشطة الإفراط في حصاد حطب الوقود ومواد البناء إلى تدمير غابات أشجار الأيكة الساحلية على طول سواحل هايتي. ويلعب أيضًا التلوث وارتفاع مستويات البحار والأعاصير دورًا في تهديد صحة الأنظمة البيئية لغابات أشجار الأيكة الساحلية عن طريق ردع تدفق المد والجزر أو عرقلته. ولا تمثل إعادة زراعة غابات الساحل الجنوبي أهمية كبرى للنظام البيئي فحسب، بل تعود بالنفع على صحة أفراد المجتمعات المحلية وسلامتهم أيضًا. وستساعد زراعة أشجار الأيكة الساحلية في حماية السكان المحليين من القوى المدمرة للأعاصير التي عادةً ما تضرب هايتي.

  • نوع إعادة زراعة الغابات – أشجار الأيكة الساحلية
  • مساحة الموقع – 338 هكتارًا
  • الأشجار لكل هكتار – 10,000
  • الهكتارات التي أُعيدت زراعتها في 2021– 9 هكتارات
  • الكربون المحتبس لكل هكتار – 840 طنًا متريًا
  • الإجمالي التقديري للكربون المحتبس – 7,560 طنًا متريًا

الفلبين

في بداية القرن الماضي، تم تشجير 70% من مساحة الفلبين، ولكن انخفض هذا تدريجيًا إلى نسبة قليلة بلغت 18.3% تقريبًا. ويرجع ذلك بنسبة كبيرة إلى إزالة الغابات وتدهور الأراضي، مما كان له عواقب وخيمة ومدمرة على التنوع البيولوجي. وبتدمير أكثر من 304,000 فدان من الغابات بالفلبين سنويًا، قد تختفي المساحات المتبقية بحلول عام 2036.

تم تحديد الفلبين، التي لديها أكثر من 20,000 من الأنواع المتوطنة، كواحدة من 17 دولة تمتلك ثلثي مساحة التنوع البيولوجي على الأرض كلها.

نقوم بما يلزم من العمل مع مراعاة هذا وبالإضافة إلى كون الفلبين جزءًا مهمًا من عائلة Canva (حيث يقع أكبر فريق خارجي لدينا في مانيلا). ومن خلال هذا البرنامج، يمكن لمجتمع Canva إحداث فرق في جميع أنحاء العالم وفي بلدتنا أيضًا.

OnePrintOneTree_By the numbers
علامة اقتباس
"علمني والدي أن قطع أشجار الغابات يؤدي إلى تدميرك. وسيصيبك ذلك بالغضب العارم، وستجد نفسك في مأزقٍ لا مفر منه. أنا أحمي هذه الغابة. وحين يأتي أشخاص يحاولون سرقة أشجارنا، أقول لهم: "لن أسمح لكم بفعل ذلك، ما دُمت حيًّا". إن الغابة مهمة لقريتنا للغاية. ولأننا نحمي الغابة، يمكننا بالفعل العيش بأنفسنا اعتمادًا على الأرض هنا، دون مساعدة أحد أو الاعتماد على أماكن أخرى."

جان زامانجيسي

رئيس أنتانامارينا بمدغشقر

الأسئلة الشائعة

نحن لا نزرع الأشجار بأنفسنا. فقد عقدنا شراكة مع شركة Reduce. Reuse. Grow. Inc. (RRG)، وهي شركة تجارية تقدم الاستدامة كخدمة وتدير برامج للمساعدة في محو التأثيرات الناتجة عن الطباعة والسلع الاستهلاكية المعبأة والصناعات التكنولوجية.


وستدير شركة RRG عملية زراعة الأشجار نيابة عن شركتنا. عند العمل في هذه البلدان، لن تساهم Canva في مسيرة الكفاح ضد تغير المناخ من خلال زراعة الغابات وأشجار الأيكة الساحلية الحابسة للكربون فحسب، بل ستعمل أيضًا على تقديم مزايا وفوائد بيئية ومجتمعية للسكان المحليين.


يوظف شركاؤنا في جهود إعادة زراعة الغابات سكان القرى المحليين في أعمال الزراعة وأنشطة حماية الغابات، مما يحقق دفعة معززة للاقتصاد.

ستدير شركة RRG عملية زراعة الأشجار نيابة عنا، وتحدد أكثر المواقع ملاءمة للزراعة حول العالم. وسنتوسع في مواقع الزراعة هذه سنويًا.

تم اختيار هذه المواقع لأنها تتيح لنا تحقيق أقصى قدر من المنفعة البيئية التي نقدمها مع التأثير إيجابيًا على سكان المناطق التي نزرع فيها.


يتحتم الالتزام تجاه القرى والمجتمعات المحلية والعمل بالتعاون معها لتكليل جهود إعادة زراعة الغابات بالنجاح والاستقرار. ويتبع شركاؤنا منهجية "التوظيف من أجل الزراعة" (Employ to Plant) لإفادة أفراد المجتمعات المحلية التي يعود عليها الطلب الذي تقدمه بالنفع. ومن خلال التوفير المستمر لفرص العمل، يمكن للقرويين الفقراء البدء في تحمل نفقات الاحتياجات اليومية مثل الغذاء والمأوى والملبس والدواء، ويدركون في نهاية المطاف فوائد سلامة الغابات للحفاظ على مجتمعهم.

بينما يواصل برنامجنا التوسع، جنبًا إلى جنب مع شركة RRG، سنقدم مواقع جديدة في جميع أنحاء العالم تحتاج إلى إعادة زراعة الغابات.

ستضمن شركة RRG زراعة الأشجار المحلية المناسبة للموقع. ولن يزرع شركاؤنا أي أنواع نباتية غازية أو يدخلها. في بعض الأحيان، ستتضمن المواقع زراعة نسبة من أنواع الحراجة الزراعية بهدف الاستخدام المستدام للمجتمع.

يعتمد هذا على المنطقة التي نزرع فيها. وتتمثل الإجابة في المشاتل التجارية أو الجمع المباشر للبذور. وخلال العام الأول هذا، سيجمع أهل القرى المحليون بذورنا من الغابات المتبقية القريبة. وإذا لزم الأمر لاستكمال البذور المُجمعة، فسيجرى شراء البذور من بنوك البذور المحلية الموثوق بها. وتنمو جميع بذور Canva في مشاتل محلية لشركاء إعادة زراعة الغابات، وذلك لضمان الجودة ومعدلات الإنبات.

تقع أغلبية مشروعات Canva التي تم إنشاؤها بطلبات الطباعة على أراضٍ حكومية تخضع لسلطة المجتمع المحلي المباشرة. وتقع بعض مشروعات الحراجة الزراعية لدينا ذات النطاق الصغير في هايتي على أراضٍ يملكها المزارعون.

تمتلك هذه الأشجار المجتمعات المحلية التي شاركت بفعالية في عملية إعادة زراعة غاباتها الإقليمية. ويكون الاستثناء الوحيد عند زراعة أشجار الحراجة هذه على الأرض التي يمتلكها المزارعون المحليون. وفي هذه الحالات، يتملك المزارعون الأشجار إلى جانب العائدات المتحصلة من الأشجار.

شركة RRG لديها شبكة من شركاء إعادة زراعة الغابات سيعملون مع أفراد المجتمع المحلي لتوظيف الفرق التي ستقوم بالزراعة. وهدفنا هو زراعة الأشجار فضلًا عن تخفيف حدة الفقر المدقع. وستتوفر فرص العمل للأفراد الذين يعيشون تحت خط الفقر في هذه المجتمعات لتوفير مصادر دخل لهم ولعائلاتهم يمكن الاعتماد عليها.

تشمل أساليب الزراعة المتنوعة التي نستخدمها التجديد الطبيعي الفردي أو الذي يديره المزارعون وكرات البذور ومشاتل الشتلات ونقل الجذور العارية وزراعة أشجار الأيكة الساحلية.

في أسرع وقت، وأحيانًا يستغرق الأمر ما يقرب من ثلاثة أشهر إلى أن تغرس شجرتك في الأرض. ويعتمد هذا على البلد التي ستغرس شجرتك فيها وموسمية الزراعة بها.

نبذل قصارى جهدنا للتأكد من أن الغابات التي نزرعها ستستمر وتنعم بالاستدامة.


ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، سيعمل شركاء إعادة زراعة الغابات لدينا بعناية شديدة مع كل المستويات الحكومية لضمان الحصول على موافقات مكتوبة تفيد بحماية مواقع إعادة الزراعة إلى الأبد، ولن نزرع في مناطق قطع الأخشاب. وتستعين فرقهم بأهل القرى المحليين ويوظفونهم لزراعة الأشجار حتى يكون هناك حافز اقتصادي لضمان سير مشروع إعادة الزراعة على أحسن وجه ونجاحه، وهم يمدون أيضًا أهل القرى المحليين بمصادر وقود بديلة (مواقد خشب جافة تتسم بالكفاءة في استهلاك الوقود ومواقد مكافئة تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية) تقلل و/أو تحد من اعتمادهم على الفحم النباتي. وأخيرًا، يوظفون حراسًا للغابات كجزء من القوى العاملة. وفي الواقع، قد أنشأ أحد شركائنا في الزراعة، Eden Restoration، مؤخرًا صندوقًا لتوفير مِنح لحراس الغابات (Forest Guard Endowment Fund) حيث يضاف كل قرش من ثمن كل شجرة إلى صندوق لتوفير حراسة لمواقع إعادة زراعة الغابات وحمايتها.

لا مفر من وجود نسبة من نفوق الشتلات والبذور. وما اكتشفته شركة RRG هو أن معدل النفوق يصبح عرضيًا حيث يبدأ التجدد الطبيعي ويبدأ في مضاعفة التأثير. وفي مواقع غابات أشجار الأيكة الساحلية، عادة ما يتجاوز معدل التجدد الطبيعي نسبة 200% من العدد الأصلي الذي تمت زراعته. وينطبق الشيء نفسه على المواقع الجافة ذات الأوراق المتساقطة في مدغشقر.

لقد تمكننا من زراعة 2.4 مليون شجرة اعتبارًا من 1 أغسطس 2022. ويشهد هذا الرقم زيادة مستمرة نظرًا لالتزامنا بزراعة المزيد من الأشجار.

لا، إذ أننا نحصل على الورق من مصادر مستدامة منفصلة عن مشروعاتنا الخاصة بإعادة زراعة الغابات.

Canva-Landing-Page-Earth-Day-top-banner

One Print, One Tree

Printing you can feel good about. For every print order placed with Canva, we plant a tree – it’s a simple idea with a big impact.

Our impact so far

2.4 million
trees planted
5 million
trees committed
3,786
farmers benefited
2600
hectares restored to native forest
OnePrintOneTree_OneprintOnetree

How it works

  1. Your order gets a tree. Every time you print with Canva, your order will unlock a tree to be planted at one of our 18 locations, across 11 countries.
  2. Your tree finds a home. Reduce. Reuse. Grow. (RRG), an accredited reforestation organization, finds the perfect planting site for your tree to create biodiversity and wildlife restoration.
  3. Your tree is planted. Our local communities and farmers plant your tree, bringing back vitality to their landscape so they can farm more sustainably.

Why plant trees?

Canva is on a mission to heal the planet so local communities and farmers can farm more sustainably.

By planting and protecting trees, we’re improving water retention, biodiversity and habitat protection while creating opportunities in agriculture and agroforestry.

OnePrintOneTree_WhyPlantTrees
Men and women planting mangroves in Africa

What are we planting?

We’re planting native species to restore essential, threatened ecosystems.

To foster plant diversity, we’ve planted over 205 different native tree species from Ficus to Balete trees to the Afzelia Quanzensis.

How are we protecting endangered species?

One Print, One Tree plants also protect endangered species by saving their habitats.

This is the focal point of our tree planting site in the Philippines, which is supporting local communities to find habitats for endangered species such as the Philippine Eagle and Philippine Crocodile.

Saving the Philippines Eagle

We’ve partnered with the Philippine Eagle Foundation to protect the endangered Philippines Eagle. We’re committed to ensuring its survival, the biodiversity it represents, and the sustainable use of our forest resources for future generations to enjoy.


The Philippine Eagle — the national bird of the Philippines — is one of the rarest eagles in the world. It is a giant bird of prey that’s listed as critically endangered by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), with an estimated number of only 400 pairs left in the wild. The Eagles are threatened daily by human activities — the forest is their only home.


Unfortunately, illegal logging and irresponsible use of resources have resulted in the disappearance of their forest habitat, with at least one Philippine eagle being killed every year. As more of our forest is lost, Philippine Eagles go farther from their usual hunting grounds in search of prey to hunt. This rare and majestic bird species can be found nowhere else but in the Philippines. Losing the species to extinction would also mean that the world is losing a precious biological heritage.

Meet the Communities

Moraharivo, Madagascar

Our planting partners in the Betsiboka River are focusing on restoring its precious mangrove forests. The estuaries of the Betsiboka were once surrounded by mangrove forests that held a variety of habitats for unique plant and animal species. For centuries, local Malagasy people have relied on the fish and shellfish living in these ecosystems for sustainable food sources. The mangroves’ deep root systems are also vital for stabilizing the coastline and reducing erosion.

  • Type of Reforestation – Mangrove
  • Size of Site – 872 hectares
  • Trees per Hectare – 10,000
  • 2021 Hectares Restored – 20
  • Carbon Sequestered per Hectare – 840 metric tons
  • Total Estimated Carbon Sequestered – 16,800 metric tons

Mahubo, Mozambique

Located in the district of Boane, the Mahubo site has an area of approximately 82km. The local village is made up of over 100K people, most of whom rely on agriculture for subsistence. The area has seen a massive loss of its mangrove forests due to the overharvesting of charcoal and timber. Canva will be restoring an area of approximately 20 hectares by planting over 200,000 mangroves, specifically the native species of Rizhopora, Ceriops, and Bruguiera.

  • Type of Reforestation – Mangrove
  • Size of Site – 645 hectares
  • Trees per Hectare – 10,000
  • 2021 Hectares Restored – 20
  • Carbon Sequestered per Hectare – 840 metric tons
  • Total Estimated Carbon Sequestered – 16,800 metric tons

Kitiligini, Kenya

North of Kenya’s capital city, Nairobi, the village of Kijabe stands on the edge of the Great Rift Valley. It is known for its dry steep terrain and Afromontane forests. This unique forest in Kenya is home to many pastoral communities that rely on the local ecosystem to sustain themselves and the economy. Due to deforestation events related primarily to charcoal harvesting, the land is highly degraded. Our restoration partners will utilize multiple methods of reforestation, including farmer-managed natural regeneration (FMNR) to help restore the area.

  • Type of Reforestation – Afromontane
  • Size of Site – 1493 hectares
  • Trees per Hectare – 2,500
  • 2021 Hectares Restored – 20

Aquin Bay West, Haiti

Over-harvesting activities for firewood and construction material have decimated mangrove forests along the coastlines of Haiti. Pollution, sea-level rise, and hurricanes also play a part in threatening the health of mangrove ecosystems by blocking or disrupting the tidal flow. Reforesting the southern coastline is crucial not only for the ecosystem but for the health and safety of local communities. Planting mangroves will help protect the local people from the destructive forces of hurricanes that too often hit Haiti.

  • Type of Reforestation – Mangrove
  • Size of Site – 338 hectares
  • Trees per Hectare – 10,000
  • 2021 Hectares Restored – 9
  • Carbon Sequestered per Hectare – 840 metric tons
  • Total Estimated Carbon Sequestered – 7,560 metric tons

Philippines

At the beginning of the last century, 70% of the Philippines was forested, but this has rapidly declined to a low of about 18.3%. This is largely due to deforestation along with land degradation and has had devastating consequences on biodiversity. With over 304,000 acres of forest cover destroyed in the Philippines each year, the remaining forests could be gone by the year 2036.

With more than 20,000 endemic species, the Philippines is recognized as one of 17 nations that, together, hold two-thirds of the earth’s biological diversity.

With this in mind and the Philippines being such an important part of the Canva family (our largest offshore team is based in Manila), we’re driven to action. Through this program, the Canva Community can make a difference across the world and in our own backyard.

OnePrintOneTree_By the numbers
Quotation mark
"My father taught me, if you cut down your forest, it will come back and destroy you. You will go to throw your spear and all you will hit is a rock. I am protecting this forest. People come trying to steal our trees, I told them, "You will have to carry my body away dead." The forest is too important to our village. Because we are protecting the forest we can actually survive on our own from the land here and not have to rely on other places."

Jean Zamanjisy

Chief of Antanamarina, Madagascar

Frequently Asked Questions

No, we are not physically planting trees ourselves. We have partnered with Reduce. Reuse. Grow. Inc. (RRG), a Sustainability-as-a-Service business that operates programs to help offset impacts from print, consumer packaged goods, and technology industries.


RRG will manage the tree planting process on our behalf. By working in these countries, not only will Canva be contributing to the fight against climate change by planting carbon-sequestering forests and mangroves, but we’ll also be delivering ecological and social benefits to the local populations.


Our partners in these restoration efforts employ local villagers in these planting and forestry protection activities, creating an economic boost.

RRG will manage the tree planting process on our behalf and select the most appropriate locations to plant, all over the world. We will expand on these planting locations each year.

These sites were chosen because they allow us to maximize the environmental benefit we deliver while also driving positive impacts to the residents of the regions in which we plant.


It is essential to be committed to and work alongside local villages and communities to achieve a successful and longstanding reforestation effort. Our partners utilize an “Employ to Plant” methodology to benefit the members in the local communities in which your order benefits. Through steady employment, impoverished villagers can begin to afford daily necessities such as food, shelter, clothing, medicine, and ultimately realize the benefits of having a healthy forest to sustain their community.

As our program continues to grow, together with RRG we will be introducing new restoration sites around the world.

RRG will ensure the planting of native trees that are appropriate for the site. Our partners will never plant or introduce any invasive species. At times, sites will include the planting of a percentage of agroforestry species for sustainable community use.

This is dependent on the region in which we are planting. The answer is either commercial nurseries or direct seed collection. For this first year, most of our seeds will be collected by the local villagers from nearby remnant forests. If required to supplement the collected seeds, seeds are purchased from local, trusted seed banks. All of Canva’s seedlings are grown at restoration partner-specific, local nurseries to ensure quality and germination rates.

The majority of Canva’s print order-generated projects are on government land that is under the direct authority of the local community. Some of our smaller-scale agroforestry projects in Haiti are on private land owned by farmers.

The trees are owned by the local communities who actively participated in the restoration of their regional forest. One exception is when agroforestry trees are planted on land owned by local farmers. In such cases, the farmers own the trees along with the proceeds from the trees.

RRG has a network of restoration partners who will work with people from the local community to recruit planting teams. It is our goal to plant trees as well as alleviate extreme poverty. Work will be given to people living below the poverty line in those communities in order to create a reliable source of income for them and their families.

The various planting methods we use include singling or farmer-managed natural regeneration, seed balls, seedling nursery, bare-root transfers, and mangrove propagule planting.

As soon as possible. Sometimes it will be as soon as three months until your tree is in the ground. This depends on the country your tree is allocated to and the seasonality for planting.

We make every effort to ensure the forest we plant becomes permanent and sustainable.


Towards this end, our restoration partners work carefully with all levels of government to secure written agreements designating the restoration sites as protected in perpetuity and we do not plant in logging areas. Their teams hire local villagers to plant the trees so that there is an economic incentive to ensure the wellbeing of the restoration project, and they also supply local villagers with alternative fuel sources (fuel-efficient dry wood stoves and solar parabolic stoves) which reduces and/or eliminates their dependence on charcoal. Finally, they hire forest guards as part of the labor force. In fact, one of our planting partners, Eden Restoration, has recently created a Forest Guard Endowment Fund whereby one cent of the price of each tree is put into a fund for long-term guarding and protection of the reforestation sites.

A percentage of seedling and propagule mortality is inevitable. What RRG has discovered is mortality becomes irrelevant as natural regeneration begins to occur and begins to multiply impact. At mangrove sites, natural regeneration typically exceeds 200% of the original number planted. The same is true of the dry deciduous sites in Madagascar.

As of 1 August 2022, we’ve planted 2.4 million trees. This number is constantly evolving as we commit to planting more trees.

No. We source paper from sustainable sources, separate from our reforestation projects.