Sharing designs via email or links
There are many ways you can share your Canva designs.
If you have or are in a team, you can also share designs with your team.
You can share from within the editor (using the Share button) or from your Canva home page (using the More icon on a design).
If you give anyone a comment-only access link to your design, they can view all comments in the editor without logging in. To reply, add new comments, or make changes to the design, they need to log in or sign up.
- Open the design you want to share.
- Select Share from the menu bar above the editor.
- Your design is set to Only you can access by default. Use the dropdown under Access level to choose who you want to share with: Only you can access, Only your team (for team workspaces users only), or Anyone with the link.
- On the other dropdown, choose what type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view. Under Visible in search results (available for team workspaces only), select whether you want it to be For all team members or Only for members with the link. You can change the permissions any time after this.
- Select Copy link, and a short link is automatically generated for your design. To learn more about how short and custom short links work, see Create and manage short links.
- Open the design you want to share.
- Select More on the page you want to share.
- Select Copy link to this page.
Why are there unknown or guest users in my design?
If you see guest users (with animal pictures and names) in your design, it’s because you gave edit access to anyone with the design link. This lets people make changes without signing up or logging in to Canva.
Learn what guest users can and can’t do in your design. Or, change your link permissions if you don’t want anyone with the link to edit.
- Find the design you want to share from your Canva homepage or folders.
- Hover over its thumbnail, and select the More icon that appears. You can also just click the design.
- Select Share.
- Your design is set to Only you can access by default. Use the dropdown under Access level to choose who you want to share with: Only you can access, Only your team (for team workspaces users only), or Anyone with the link.
- On the other dropdown, choose what type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view. Under Visible in search results (available for team workspaces only), select whether you want it to be For all team members or Only for members with the link. You can change the permissions any time after this.
- Select Copy link, and a short link is automatically generated for your design. To learn more about how short and custom short links work, see Create and manage short links.
- Open the design that you want to share.
- Select Share from the menu bar above the editor.
- In the text field under People with access, enter the email addresses you’d like to share your design with. Separate them with commas (,). If you’re in a team, you can also search their name and add them directly.
- Use the dropdown to choose what type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view. You can change the permissions any time after this.
- Select Share.
Publicly sharing a design
Creating and sharing a Template link is only available to Canva Pro, Canva Teams, Canva Enterprise, Canva for Education, and Canva for Nonprofits users.
You can also share designs that anyone can view or use as a template by creating a Public view link or Template link
Depending on how you share a design publicly and the permissions you give, people may be able to access content that isn't immediately visible, including hidden content, cropped content, and presenter notes. Content from previous revisions may also be accessible.
Before sharing a design publicly, remove any content you don't want others to access.
Prepare your design before sharing
Important: Before sharing a design publicly, check that it doesn't contain anything you don't want others to access.
- In the original design, delete any hidden pages, presenter notes, cropped content, or other content you don't want to share.
- Then, make a copy of the design. The copy won't include any previous revisions of the original design.
- Review the copy to make sure it contains only the content you want to share publicly.
- Share the copied design using your preferred sharing option.
Sharing profile pictures
Designs that have been shared to others have profile pictures. You can click on any of the profile pictures to see who has access to your design or folder.
- If a design or folder doesn’t have a profile picture, it means that it’s private to you.
- If it is shared to you and another person or team, a design will have two profile pictures.
If the design is shared to more than two people, the second profile picture will have a Plus icon, which means that you and two or more people or teams have access to it.
To see how many people viewed your design after sharing it, open Insights from the editor menu bar. Learn more about it on Viewing design insights and analytics.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful