Share designs with your team
If you’re part of a team, you can share your design —whether it’s a presentation, document, or Canva Sheet—with the whole team or with selected team members or groups. You can also share designs via email or links.
Team admins and owners with at least View access to a folder can move and delete it.
Limitations
- Unique links are only available to paid plans.
- Anyone with a view or watch link can forward or share it. You can’t change permissions after it’s shared.
- For template links, recipients with the same work email domain must be on a paid plan.
- Hidden content (cropped images, hidden pages) becomes visible if the design is copied.
- Shared designs can’t be removed from the homepage or Projects, but you can filter to show only designs you own.
Sharing designs with the whole team
You can give your entire team access to your design using a shareable link. Anyone in your team can view, comment on, or edit the design, depending on the permission level you choose.
- Open the design that you want to share.
- Select Share from the menu bar above the editor.
- Your design is set to Only you can access by default. Select the dropdown under Access level and select your team.
- On the other dropdown, choose what type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view. Under Visible in search results, select whether you want it to be visible For all team members or Only for members with the link. You can change the permissions any time after this.
A building icon next to the avatar means that you’re sharing the design with the whole team.
If your design contains hidden content—such as hidden pages, cropped images, or trimmed videos—anyone who makes a copy of the design will be able to see that content. To prevent this, delete any content you do not want others to view before sharing.
Sharing designs with selected team members or groups
Instead of sharing with the whole team, you can share with selected individuals or groups.
- Open the design that you want to share.
- Select Share from the menu bar above the editor.
- Under People with access, type the team member’s name or email address in the text field. If you have groups within the team, you can also type it in.
- Select them from the search results. Type more names in the text field to share your design with more team members or groups.
- Use the dropdown to choose what type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view. You can change the permissions any time after this.
Groups have a people icon next to the avatar. The number of team members is also displayed below the group name so you know how many people you’re sharing your design with.
Your selected team members or groups will now have access to your shared design.
To make it easier to find content you've received from others, the "Shared with you" page is now more focused and only shows items that have been shared directly with you.
What appears on “Shared with you”
- Designs, Folders, and Brand Templates appear when shared in one of the following ways:
- Directly with you as an individual.
- With a Group you’re a member of.
- Via a link you have opened.
- After selecting Use this Brand Template from a shared Brand Template link.
- Imported Files that have been converted into editable Canva designs (like PDFs or presentations).
What doesn't appear on “Shared with you”
- Individual files inside a shared folder. When a folder is shared with you, only the folder itself will appear.
- Exception: If a specific file inside that folder was also shared with you directly, it will appear as a separate item.
- Uploaded media and assets. Files that are not converted into Canva designs (like images, videos, audio, and files) will not appear on your Shared with you page. You can still find these using the search bar or in your Projects.
Important: Why did my old content disappear?
With this update, any content on your “Shared with you" page that doesn't meet the new rules will not appear.
If a specific file is no longer visible, it hasn't been removed from Canva. Unless it was removed by the file owner, you can still find it by searching for it, looking inside the folder it's in, or checking your Projects hub.
Sharing a design link with your team
This link sharing feature is only available to Canva Teams users.
- Open the design you want to share.
- Select Share from the menu bar above the editor.
- Your design is set to Only you can access by default. Use the dropdown under Access level and select your team.
- On the other dropdown, choose what type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view. Under Visible in search results, select whether you want it to be visible For all team members or Only for members with the link. You can change the permissions any time after this.
- Select Copy link.
If you share a design that contains hidden content with another user, such as hidden pages, images, or videos cropped within Canva, the user will be able to view the hidden content if they make a copy of the design. Please delete any content you do not wish to be viewed within your design when shared.
Grant design access through the homepage notifications
If a collaborator requests access to a design, the design owner will be notified through notifications on the homepage.
- Select the bell icon.
- Look for the design access request.
- Use the dropdown to choose the type of permissions you want to give: can edit, comment, or view.
- Select Share.
There’ll be a confirmation message that the design has been shared. The notification will move from the To do to the Completed tab.
Sharing profile pictures
Designs that have been shared to others have profile pictures. You can click on any of the profile pictures to see who has access to your design or folder.
- If a design or folder doesn’t have a profile picture, it means that it’s private to you.
- If it is shared to you and another person or team, a design will have two profile pictures.
If the design is shared to more than two people, the second profile picture will have a Plus icon, which means that you and two or more people or teams have access to it.
To see how many people viewed your design after sharing it, open Insights from the editor menu bar. Learn more about it on Viewing design insights and analytics.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful