Enable removal from external teams in Canva
Use Canva’s consolidation tools to remove members from external teams joined outside your organisation.
This article is intended for Canva admins managing organisation settings. If you're a Canva user wondering what happened to your team or how to copy your content, check out Understanding removal from teams in Canva article.
What is removal from external teams?
Removal from external teams is part of Canva’s advanced consolidation tools for Enterprise customers.
When someone signs up for Canva independently using their work email, they may join teams owned by people who aren’t affiliated with your organisation. These teams may not be work-related and sit outside of the organisation’s control.
Once the member is affiliated with your Enterprise account and added to an organisation-managed team, they can be automatically removed from external teams they joined outside your organisation’s domains.
Members will have 30 days' notice before they’re removed. During that window, they may be able to copy content into their organisation-managed team (if permissions allow).
Why it matters
This feature ensures that:
- When members are removed, they transition from creating content in external teams to working within official organisation-managed teams. This gives admins better oversight and control.
- Members can quickly resume work with minimal disruption, using copied content from their previous team (if permissions allow).
- Future work happens in a secure, collaborative environment with the right tools and oversight.
How it works
- When an organisation admin enables team removal, existing managed members will be given 30 days' notice before they’re removed from external teams.
- After 30 days, or if the external team admin removes the member earlier, the managed member will no longer be able to access or copy content from that team.
- If your team permissions allow incoming copied content, members can bulk copy all their content into the organisation-managed team.
How do I enable team removal?
As an organisation admin, you can enable or disable this setting. To turn it on:
- From the homepage, select your Profile icon.
- Select Settings.
- Select SSO and provisioning.
- Select Teams.
- Turn on Remove members from external teams.
Note: Other organisation admins can turn this off at any time.
Important: Turning off Remove members from external teams won’t reverse any past removals. It will only prevent future removals.
Identify which teams qualify for removal
A team qualifies for removal if it is an external team created outside of your organisation’s domains.
How do I check permissions to allow content copy?
To confirm whether your organisation-managed team allows incoming copied content:
- From the homepage, select your Profile icon.
- Select Settings.
- Select Permissions.
- Under Import Content, review "Who can accept copied content from another team?"
- Set this according to your preference from the dropdown.
What if an external team owner had a paid subscription accounting for these removed members?
If a member joins an organisation-managed team and is then removed from an external team, the owner can add members to take their place at any time during that billing period, as they’ve already been charged.
If the owner chooses not to replace these members, they won't be billed in the next billing period for members who were removed.
Can I turn off team removal?
Yes, as long as you are an organisation admin, you can turn off team removal. However, this does not reverse any member removals that may have occurred. It only prevents future managed members from being removed.
What content can be copied?
Supported
- Designs
- Folders
- Brand templates (as designs)
- Websites (as designs)
- Media
- Videos
Not supported
- Apps
- Published websites
- Fonts
- Audio
- Orders and invoices
- Comments
- Who it's shared with (You’ll need to re-share files manually)
- Brand kits
- Brand templates
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful