What happens to my students’ accounts when I delete my Canva Education class team?
Thinking of deleting your Canva Education team account? Before you do so, it’s important to know how this affects your students and their access to Canva.
Canva ensures student accounts are protected under school-administered consent, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.
In Canva Education, teachers create class teams and invite students to join. When students accept the invite, their account is tied to the teacher’s class team, wherein:
- Teachers are to manage student access, and
- Students to collaborate inside the class workspace
When you delete your Canva Education account, you've 14 days to log in and restore your account and all data. This means your students also have the same 14-day window to recover their individual accounts.
After 14 days without logging in, your account and connected teams (class) will be permanently deleted.
How account deletion affects your students’ Canva access
The impact on students depends on whether they're part of multiple Canva Education class teams or only your class team.
If your students are part of another Canva Education class team
- Your students’ Canva access stays active (via their other team), but they’ll lose access to any designs or work created in your class.
- When they log in to Canva, they’ll automatically be switched to their other team.
If your students are part of your Canva Education class team only
- If a student is only part of your class and not part of any other team, they'll lose Canva access if your account is deleted. They’ll get an email prompting them to log in.
- What happens next depends on their age:
- If they’re under 13, the account will be deleted permanently
- If they’re 13 and older, they can keep using Canva via a personal account, but content from the school account won't be copied over.
I’d like to delete my Canva Education account
Before you delete your Canva Education account, make sure your students don't lose their work:
- Ask your students to download or save their content, or
- Transfer team ownership to another teacher or admin so they don’t lose access to their content.
Follow the steps in Delete account.
I’d like to delete a class team only
If you’re the owner of multiple teams and just want to delete a specific class team (not your entire Canva Education account), you can do that, too. Check out Manage and delete teams for the detailed steps.
I’d like to transfer team ownership to another teacher
If you're not ready to delete your class or want students to keep access without interruption, contact us through Help Assistant to request transfer of ownership to another teacher instead.
Note: The new owner must already be part of your team and have admin permissions.
FAQs
Can I restore my account?
Yes. If you log in within 14 days of deleting your account, you'll restore your account, student access, and class designs.
After 14 days, you can no longer recover your account or any associated content.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful